The following requirements apply to both centers and homes. Transportation Child care centers or family child care homes providing transportation for children must meet all motor vehicle laws, including inspection, insurance, license, and restraint requirements. Children may never be left alone in a vehicle and child-staff ratio must be maintained. Records Centers and homes must keep accurate records such as children's attendance, immunizations, and emergency phone numbers. A record of monthly fire drills practiced with safe evacuation of children must also be maintained. A safe sleep policy must be developed and shared with parents if children younger than 12 months are in care. Discipline ...view middle of the document...
ncchildcare.net. For more information on the law and rules, contact the Division of Child Development and Early Education at 919-662-4499 or 1-800-859-0829, or visit our homepage at: http://www.ncchildcare.net.
Reviewing Files A public file is maintained in the Division’s main office in Raleigh for every center or family child care home. These files can be viewed during work hours; requested via the Division’s web site at www.ncchildcare.net; or, requested by contacting the Division at 1-800-859-0829.
How to Report a Problem North Carolina law requires staff from the Division of Child Development and Early Education to investigate a licensed family child care home or child care center when there has been a complaint. Child care providers who violate the law or rules may be fined up to $1,000 and may have their licenses suspended or revoked. If you believe that a child care provider fails to meet the requirements described in this pamphlet, or if you have questions, please call the Division of Child Development and Early Education at 919-662-4499 or 1-800-859-0829. Child Abuse or Neglect Abuse occurs when a parent or caregiver injures or allows another to injure a child physically or emotionally. Abuse may also occur when a parent or caregiver puts a child at risk of serious injury or allows another to put a child at risk of serious injury. Neglect occurs when a child does not receive proper care, supervision, or discipline, or when a child is abandoned. North Carolina law requires any person who suspects child abuse or neglect to report the case to the county department of social services. In addition, any person can call the Division of Child Development and Early Education at 919-662-4499 or 1-800-859-0829 and make a report of suspected child abuse or neglect in a child care operation. Reports can be made anonymously. A person cannot be held liable for a report made in good faith. The operator of the program must notify parents of children currently enrolled in writing of the substantiation of any abuse/neglect complaint or the issuance of any administrative action against the child care facility.
Summary of the North Carolina Child Care Law and Rules
Division of Child Development and Early Education
North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services 319 Chapanoke Road Raleigh, NC 27603 Revised November 2011 The North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age or disability in employment or provision of services. 2,000 copies of this document were printed at a cost of $179.64 or $0.09 per copy.
What Is Child Care? The law defines child care as: three or more unrelated children under 13 years of age receiving care from a non-relative on a regular basis, of at least once a week for more than four hours per day but less than 24 hours. It is only when all of these conditions exist that regulation is required. The North...